Linneborn Prize

Follow the Linneborn Prize on

The Prize was established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass. The Prize is named in honour of Johannes Linneborn, a pioneer of wood gasification. Deeply rooted in human ethics, he had far-reaching visions on the world's development, on health, transport and agriculture.

The Linneborn Prize is awarded every year to an individual for outstanding merits in biomass.

Nominations for the Johannes Linneborn Prize, given each year at the European Biomass Conference and Exhibition for "Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Energy from Biomass", are due by 27 February 2015.

The nomination form is short and simple, and can be submitted online.

Rules for the nomination:

  1. The nominee must have scientific, technical or managerial merit in the development of biomass, attained over a long period of continuous achievements;
  2. It is primarily a European Award but can occasionally be awarded to a Non-European;
  3. The Prize is awarded to a single individual. The Prize cannot be shared nor given to an institution or team;
  4. A person may not nominate him/herself;
  5. A person may not nominate someone from his/her organisation but always someone from another organisation;
  6. Members of the Linneborn Prize Committee cannot be nominated;
  7. Every nomination should be accompanied by a page of why the person who nominates someone believes that he/she deserves to get the award.

The electronic nomination form should include the name of the nominee, his/her current affiliation and contact information and the nominator's name, address, phone number and e-mail. The requested accompanying materials composing the page of why for the nomination are: the nominee's contributions to the advancement of the Biomass field to make him/her deserving to get the award, a list of the nominee's activities in the field and a current CV for the nominee.

The Awarded International Personalities 1994-2014

1994: Giuliano Grassi - 8th European Bioenergy Conference - Vienna
1996: Ralph Overend - 9th European Bionergy Conference - Copenhagen
1998: David Hall - 10th European Biomass Conference - Wurzburg
2000: Ton Beenackers - 11th European Biomass Conference - Seville
2002: Philippe Chartier - 12th European Biomass Conference - Amsterdam
2004: Spyros Kyritsis - 13th European Biomass Conference - Rome
2005: Wolfgang Palz - 14th European Biomass Conference - Paris
2007: Tony Bridgwater - 15th European Biomass Conference - Berlin
2008: José Roberto Moreira - 16th European Biomass Conference - Valencia
2009: Bryan M. Jenkins - 17th European Biomass Conference - Hamburg
2010: Kyriakos Maniatis - 18th European Biomass Conference - Lyon
2011: Kai Sipilä - 19th European Biomass Conference - Berlin
2012: Hermann Hofbauer - 20th European Biomass Conference - Milano
2013: Liisa Viikari - 21st European Biomass Conference - Copenhagen
2013: Wim Van Swaaij - Special Award - 21st European Biomass Conference - Copenhagen
2014: Yuan Zhenhong - 22nd European Biomass Conference - Hamburg

Click here for the Linneborn Prize Committee

  • Home